Earth Day 2016

The 22nd of April marks the anniversary of the beginning of the modern environmental movement in 1970.

This Earth Day, more than 130 countries will be signing the Paris Agreement – an international climate accord to hold the global average rise in temperature well below 2 degrees Celsius, become more adaptable to the adverse impacts of climate change, and to finance the change towards low-carbon emissions & climate-resilient development. It will be the most signed international treaty ever.

Since the industrial revolution in 1880, global temperatures have already risen by roughly 0.85 degrees Celsius. With a growing global population and increased consumption, “business as usual” will only hasten the damaging changes made to the climate on which we rely on to survive.

Much needs to be done by countries, leaders, influencers, corporations and individuals to ensure this agreement is fulfilled to maintain the human-friendly climate that we currently have.

How will you contribute to this cause?

Continue the conversation with us at the Carbon Reduction Institute:
www.noco2.com.au

Read the COP21 Paris Agreement here:
https://unfccc.int/resource/docs/2015/cop21/eng/l09r01.pdf

Read the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s Fifth Assessment Reports here:
https://www.ipcc.ch/report/ar5/

World Environment Day Awards 2016

Update: The entry deadline for the World Environment Day Awards 2016 has been extended for one more week, until Tuesday April 19, 5pm AEST.

The Carbon Reduction Institute is proud to be a silver sponsor of the United Nations Association of Australia 2016 World Environment Day Awards.

Each year, in support of United Nations World Environment Day (June 5), the United Nations Association of Australia recognises innovative and outstanding environmental programs and initiatives from across Australia and the important work of Australian environmental leaders through its World Environment Day Awards.

The preeminent national awards play an important role in raising awareness about key environmental issues and challenges, and inspiring and motivating individuals, organisations and businesses to take positive steps towards sustainability and environmental excellence in their homes, schools, communities and workplaces.

View the ‘Call for Entries’ Media Release here and awards categories and criteria here. 

A4_weda_poster

Sustainable Weekends

Make the most of your weekends with some of these great sustainable activities around Australia!

 

Sydney

Sydney Coastal Walks: http://concreteplayground.com/sydney/travel-leisure/leisure/the-ten-best-coastal-walks-in-sydney/

Sustainable dining:  http://aglsolar.com.au/sydneys-top-sustainable-eats/

Upcycling & restoration workshops at the Bower: http://bower.org.au/workshops/

Sydney Sustainable Markets: https://www.facebook.com/Sydney-Sustainable-Markets-104311339600793/

Sydney Sustainable Living events & workshops: http://www.sydney-sustainableliving.com/events-and-workshops/

 

New South Wales

Bushwalking in the Blue Mountains: http://www.visitnsw.com/destinations/blue-mountains/bushwalking

Explore NSW’s karst & caves: http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/resources/geodiversity/10104nswkarstcaveguide.pdf

Minnamurra Rainforest: http://www.visitnsw.com/destinations/south-coast/kiama-area/minnamurra-rainforest

Illawarra Fly Treetop Adventures: http://www.illawarrafly.com/

Kiama Coastal Walks: http://svc129.bookeasy.com/images/kiama/Kiama%20-%20Coast%20Walk%20Brochure%20-%2018690%20-%20proof19.pdf

Sandboarding at the Stockton Sand Dunes: http://www.portstephens.org.au/see-and-do/the-sand-dunes

Fruit picking: http://www.hawkesburyharvest.com.au/pick-your-own/

 

Melbourne

Sustainable Living Festival: http://www.slf.org.au/

Dandenong Ranges: http://www.experiencethedandenongs.com.au/

Port Phillip EcoCentre: http://www.ecocentre.com/home

Sustainable Melbourne Walking Tour: http://www.gbca.org.au/uploads/122/34938/Sustainable%20Melbourne%20Walking%20Tour.pdf

CERES Community Environment Park: http://ceres.org.au/

 

Victoria

Phillip Island Nature Parks: http://www.penguins.org.au/

Werribee Open Range Zoo: http://www.zoo.org.au/werribee

Great Ocean Walk: http://www.zoo.org.au/werribee

 

Brisbane

Green Heart Fair:  http://www.citysmart.com.au/greenheartfair

Killarney Waterfalls: http://www.weekendnotes.com/the-killarney-waterfalls/

Northey Street City Farm Sustainable Living Workshops: http://www.nscf.org.au/sustainable-living-workshops-brisbane/

Sustainable Brisbane Walking Tour: http://www.visitgreatoceanroad.org.au/greatoceanwalk

 

Queensland

The Great Barrier Reef: http://www.greatbarrierreef.org/

Daintree Rainforest: http://www.destinationdaintree.com/

Lady Elliot Island: http://www.queensland.com/en-AU/tour/great-barrier-reef-day-trip-to-lady-elliot-island

 

Canberra

Cycle around Canberra: http://visitcanberra.com.au/getting-around/cycling

Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve: http://www.tidbinbilla.act.gov.au/

 

Adelaide

Organic & Sustainable Market: https://www.facebook.com/organicandsustainablemarket/

Community Kitchen Gardens: http://www.kitchengardenssa.com.au/

Sustainable Walking Tour: https://www.gbca.org.au/events/sustainable-adelaide-walking-tour/

Sarah’s Sister’s Sustainable Cafe: https://www.facebook.com/Sarahs-Sisters-Sustainable-Cafe-102891273088757/

The Organic Market and Cafe: http://www.organicmarket.com.au/

 

Northern Territory

The Territory wildlife park: http://www.territorywildlifepark.com.au/

Visit Uluru: http://www.australia.com/en/places/red-centre/nt-uluru.html

Kings Canyon: http://www.australia.com/en/places/red-centre/kings-canyon.html

 

Perth

Less is More Festival: http://www.lessismorefestival.com/

Greenhouse Perth: http://greenhouseperth.com/

Perth Zoo: http://perthzoo.wa.gov.au/

 

Western Australia

Coral Bay Eco Tours: http://www.coralbayecotours.com.au/

WA Islands: http://www.weekendnotes.com/western-australias-secret-holiday-islands/

 

Tasmania

Farm Gate Market: http://farmgatemarket.com.au/

Sustainable Living Tasmania Events: http://www.slt.org.au/events

Sustainability Learning Centre: http://www.greenhub.org.au/sustainability-learning-centre/

Know more activities or events we can add? Then email us at media@noco2.com.au